Daily Routine

Dublin Core

Title

Daily Routine

Creator

James Werner

Date

2020-04

Language

English

Type

Text

Spatial Coverage

Lawnton, PA a suburb of Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

Text Item Type Metadata

Text

My family right now consists of my wife Paula, son Philip, 23 years old, and our 18 month old golden retriever, Wally, and myself, Jim. We do have an older son, Jimi, 27, but he lives on his own, close by. We’ve only seen him through doors or windows since this all began. It’s hard, but we get it. I know others with younger children have to homeschool, but we’re not in that situation.
My wife and I are both retired educators, but I used to work part time at Boneshire, a local brewery. I’m laid off now because of the virus. The brewery is still operating with limited staff. They’re doing carry out, curbside service, and delivery. I miss the people, patrons, and banter.
My day starts at around 9. I’ve been trying to wake around the same time each day. Usually shower every other day, and get dressed, and take Wally out. Everyone else usually sleeps a little longer, no reason to get up yet.
I usually sit and journal while listening to the news, and watching Let’s Make a Deal. Need some reason to smile and I enjoy Wayne Brady and the casts’ silliness. Around 10 I feed Wally. About this time I’ll have a lite breakfast, too.
Later, around 11-12, I’ll takeWally out to train, play, and potty. We usually come in and play a little more. This makes it easier for him to come in. He knows play hasn’t stopped yet. Right now we’re reinforcing sit, down, stay, come, this way , high five, shake paw, and touch. We’ve also started doing “porch”, to get him to run and sit on the porch, and some other tricks. Recently we’ve also been teaching him to jump a bar, and crawl under it. It’s been rewarding, and distracting during all of this crazy virus stuff.
In the afternoon, we usually watch the news, do some project, run errands, with masks on, or call to talk with family. We try to limit the times away to the store. We try to go maybe once a week, but at times we may have to go more. We also try to take advantage of curbside services where we can.
Around 3 or 4 we religiously walk Wally about a mile and a half in a local park. On warmer days we’ve been venturing to other walking spots some longer.
Around 6 we feed Wally, make dinner, train and play some more. Then settle in watching tv, using social media, playing games, or whatever. Sometimes we make dinner together, other times we may order out, and get curb side pick up. One nice thing about this time is that we’ve been able to eat together each evening.
As you see, it’s not very exciting, but necessary at this time. Wally gets a lot of our attention. Many dogs all across the nation are probably loving this time with their families. We’ll hopefully cherish this time together. Hopefully, children will learn to take advantage of the little things, be more compassionate, care for family, and cherish their lives and the good things in them.

Tags

Citation

James Werner, “Daily Routine,” Shippensburg University Community Response to COVID-19, accessed February 7, 2023, https://shippensburgcovid19.omeka.net/items/show/24.